Casio GW500A-1V G-Shock Atomic Solar Watch

Casio GW500A-1V G-Shock Atomic Solar Watch

Casio GW500A-1V G-Shock Atomic Solar Watch

  • Quartz movement
  • Water-resistant to 660 feet (200 M)
  • Atomic Timekeeping: Receives time calibration radio signals which keep the displayed time accurate
  • Auto EL backlight with Afterglow
  • 29 times zones (30 cities), city code display, daylight saving on/off

The shock-resistant design of the Casio Men’s G-Shock Atomic Tough Solar Watch makes it a one-of-a-kind timepiece. This tough watch is constructed with a durable black resin case, a stationary stainless steel bezel, and a black resin wristband with an adjustable buckle clasp for a personalized fit. A durable mineral window shields the digital-gray dial face, which features the time display, as well as the day, date, and month. The digital-quartz-powered watch includes adjust, mode, split/reset, and start/stop function buttons to fit your activity, as well as subdials that track battery life. It is water resistant to 660 feet.

List Price: $ 120.00

Price: $ 62.50

Moonrays 97126 350mAh NiCd AAA Rechargeable Solar Batteries, 4 Pack

Moonrays 97126 350mAh NiCd AAA Rechargeable Solar Batteries, 4 Pack

  • 97126 NICD REPL BATTERY AAA
  • NICD REPL BATTERY AAA 4PK

NiCd 4 pack, batteries for solar lights.

List Price: $ 7.99

Price: $ 2.99

Find More Solar Technology Products

Category: Product Reviews

6 Responses to “Casio GW500A-1V G-Shock Atomic Solar Watch”

  1. 231 of 231 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A few observations for a prospective purchaser, August 20, 2006
    By 
    Eric Krupin (Salt Lake City, UT) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Having owned the GW500AJP-1AV for a week, here are my thoughts on some of the points raised by the reviewers of this and other G-Shock models:

    1. In my opinion, concerns about the thickness of the watch have been overstated. Certainly, if slimness is an *important* criterion for you, this isn’t your watch. But you’ll have no trouble fitting it under your shirt cuff. [Though the manual cautions that doing so will hamper the solar function.] Even my ridiculously slender wrists support it – physically and (I hope) esthetically – without difficulty.

    2. The G-Shock models are advertised as rugged. I’m not about to use mine as a hockey puck to put that to the test. But it certainly *feels* sturdy. [The thickness helps here.] And from what I’ve read about them elsewhere, they do shrug off a considerable amount of punishment.

    3. Everyone’s experience with receiving the timekeeping signal from Fort Collins will vary depending on the particulars of their location and the attention they pay to the manual. I live only 350 miles from the transmitter but with modestly sized mountains in between – which can be a dealbreaker. Although it took a longer period of motionlessness for the watch to lock in than the manual had told me to allow, it has received a strong signal ever since. [And keep in mind that the watch is accurate to 15 seconds a month even without synchronization.]

    3. When I first unpacked the watch, the battery level was at Medium – which you would expect after it having been in a box for who knows how long. After 3 hours of direct exposure to bright sunlight [which you should do in the early morning to keep the watch from roasting], the battery level has remained High ever since.

    4. The four control buttons are slightly recessed – for decreased vulnerability, I imagine. This means you will need to operate them with a directly perpendicular press by the edge of your fingernail, rather than an angled mashing under the meat of your fingertip. I can see why this irritates some people. [It did require a small mental adjustment on my part.] However, I think it was a legitimate design decision.

    5. The leftmost of the three circular “gauges” at the top of the display is meant to mimic the sweep of a minute hand on an analog watch. Speaking as someone whose attachment to that visual “pie-slice” style of time reading has been my main reason for sticking with analog watches until now, I think it’s a terrific idea. In practice, though, the gauge is too small to be useful for that purpose. [For my eyes, anyway.] However, I don’t mind particularly – since I think the three gauges look cool simply as decoration.

    6. Someone else commented that the black resin wrist band is not replaceable. I’m not sure if that’s true. However, replacing it would be no casual affair. So if you won’t be content with this kind of band, you should look for a different watch. I prefer leather bands myself. But this one is in keeping with the toughness of the rest of the watch and certainly comfortable enough to wear.

    On the whole, I’m very happy with this purchase. If you enjoy having an accurately set timepiece – and who doesn’t? – it’s difficult to overstate the satisfaction of radio-synchronization. A good mechanical watch is accurate to 5 seconds a day. A good quartz watch is accurate to less than 1 second a day. As long as it’s in signal range, this watch will be accurate to less than 1 second for the next 60 million years [http://tf.nist.gov/cesium/fountain.htm] – or at least until the US government stops broadcasting, at which point you’ll probably have other things to worry about. When someone asks you for the time, you will be able to give them *The* time.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Clay Marley "Rev" Reply July 13, 2012 at 8:26 pm
    88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Great but thick, June 18, 2006
    By 
    Clay Marley “Rev” (Phoenix, AZ) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    I first bought a Casio G-Shock type watch back in about ’82, a DW-1000, actually a precursor to the G-Shock. Still works great to this day, though I’ve replaced the battery twice and replaced the resin band with a metal one. This watch has served me well over the years from hiking to scuba diving. So I decided it was time to upgrade to the latest technology – a solar powered G-Shock with “atomic” timekeeping.

    This new watch performs great so far. It synchronizes to the Fort Collins signal every night without problems. I live roughly 700 miles from the transmitter. In the good old days I used to dial in the time signal on a shortwave radio to synchronize my watches. It’s great to have a watch I can forget about setting.

    I was a little concerned before I bought this watch that Casio was relying on the time sync and the watch might not be accurate without it. This is important to me because I frequently travel internationally. Not a problem. My watch had last been synced about 6 weeks prior to my receiving it, and was off about 12 seconds. That’s 2 seconds a week or less than 2 minutes a year.

    The other feature I especially like is the easy world time – a couple button presses and I can show time at whatever time zone I am in. Other functions like the stopwatch are easy to use without constantly referring to the manual.

    There are 3 round dials at top. The left acts like an analog minute hand. The center shows the battery charge, and the right shows if any secondary functions are active, like the alarms or stopwatch. The text on the right dial is almost impossible to read regardless of how young your eyes are.

    I think this watch looks great, but it is thick – almost 5/8 inch thick. So if you like svelte watches this isn’t for you. The resin band is integral to the watch, so replacing it with a standard band is not an option. This is probably the only weak point.

    The manual is small and thick, but can be downloaded in PDF form from the Casio web site.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. Daniel R. Greenfield "Dan" Reply July 13, 2012 at 8:54 pm
    52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Make sure you have a backup, November 1, 2005
    By 
    Daniel R. Greenfield “Dan” (Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      

    This is an excellent watch. It is virtually indestructible, feeds on sunlight, and “phones home.” The common criticisms of this and its atomic G-Shock siblings are that they are cumbersome and ugly. Admittedly, it is not the slimmest, sleekest watch in the world. And no, it isn’t the most elegant either. And clearly, style and comfort do indeed enter into the equation when you are shopping for a watch. But this is not a fashion watch, nor was it ever meant to be one. It is a functional one. You might wear a sleek, beautiful Movado watch to the opera, but you are not likely to subject such a watch to all the stresses and strains of an active lifestyle. This watch will take whatever you can throw at it and then some, and it will be accurate to the atomic second. So, it is a very different kind of watch from a stylish Movado. My Movado sits quietly in the darkness of my jewelry cabinet most of the time; it is “too good” to wear every day.

    I have worn my atomic G-Shock for over a year now, and have grown to depend on it. However, I recently decided to purchase another. Here’s why: The watch does indeed feed on sunlight. You never need to hassle with a battery. You may have it fully charged in October. But as you go into the dark months of winter, without adequate exposure to sunlight, the watch will slowly begin losing its charge. Eventually, in the middle of winter, you may find it going into a state of hibernation if its charge falls below a certain threshold. In that event, all you can do is take it off and leave it in the feeble winter sunlight for a number of days until it is recharged. During that recharging time, you will need a backup watch to wear, if you have one. I didn’t. I was originally going to buy a cheap stand-in, but decided instead to buy a second atomic G-Shock, so impressed was I by the first one’s resilience and dependability.

    In summary, this watch is not meant to replace the stylish watch you wear to the opera or other dressy occasions. This is a functional, everyday watch, resilient, self-sufficient, and intelligent.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. NLee the Engineer Reply July 13, 2012 at 9:43 pm
    20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    Don’t bother with this outdated product, May 20, 2010
    By 
    NLee the Engineer (Nashua, NH) –
    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)
      
    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)
      

    This review is from: Moonrays 97126 350mAh NiCd AAA Rechargeable Solar Batteries, 4 Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)

    There is simply no reason why anyone should buy those NiCd (Nickel Cadmium) rechargeable cells for solar rechargeable light applications. For similar price, you can find NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) cells such as the Rayovac Rechargeable AAA, which offer the following advantages:

    – Higher capacity: NiMH AAA cells are typically 800-1000mAh, compared of just 350mAh for those NiCd cells.
    – No memory effect: NiMH cells are less likely to suffer from reduced capacity when they are partially charged and discharged (such as in a solar light application).
    – Environmentally Friendly: NiMH cells do not contain Cadmium, a highly toxic heavy metal. Expired NiCd cells must be disposed in special battery recycle bins, but most people don’t bother to do that. So those cells end up buried in landfill or, worse yet, incinerated. (*)

    The only advantage NiCd cell has over NiMH is lower internal resistance, which allows it to provide very high peak current in short bursts. That’s why NiCd cells are still used in cordless power tools and RC race cars. But in the case of solar rechargeable lights, the battery current is delievered slowly over 8-12 hours. So NiMH cells, with much higher capacity, are far superior as replacement batteries.

    (*)FOOTNOTE:
    As of Sep 2008, imports of NiCd rechargeable batteries were banned for all EU countries (thanks to a 2006 Battery Directive). Prices of NiCd cells plummeted as a result. It is sad to see that the U.S. is now being used as the largest dumping ground (literally) for those outdated products.

    [Update on May 17, 2012]
    It should be noted that the same company is now selling Moonrays NiMh Pre-charged Rechargeable Batteries for Solar Lights. So there goes the claim by some people that “you can only use NiCd for solar lights”!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    Caveat Emptor, August 18, 2010
    By 
    Gina9

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Moonrays 97126 350mAh NiCd AAA Rechargeable Solar Batteries, 4 Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)

    The batteries themselves are probably fine. The problem is that the ones I received had already expired and didn’t work. I bought 6 packs of batteries and Amazon replaced them for free, but those, too, had already expired. The end result for me was a lot of hassle and I still don’t have any usable solar batteries. Anybody know where I can get some? The AAA NiCd seems particularly hard to find compared to the AA size.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    dead, October 22, 2010
    By 
    kelcey

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Moonrays 97126 350mAh NiCd AAA Rechargeable Solar Batteries, 4 Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I recieved my solar batteries quickly but they were dead as a doorknob. Never charged up at all. Worthless. Very unhappy with product. Not worth returning buy the time i pay for shipping!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com.